Leave a comment



Today is the 5th Ramadhan 1435 and as part of our Ramadhan Activities we have been learning about Dates.

This morning we started off with an activity to learn some ahadeeth about dates with this cute date bowl pocket from Umm Abdul Basir which you can download HERE.



When my 2 year old daughter, Zeynab, saw the kids colouring the hadith cards she insisted she wanted to ‘colour dates’ too! So I quickly designed this Date Hadith Colouring Page for her to colour.


My 6 and 7 year olds then did a tissue paper craft of a date palm tree. The tree is surrounded with ahadeeth about dates. We found this worksheet as part of activity number 16 of Umm Maimoonah’s Ramadhan Activity Packs.



After that they took turns to read aloud to us from this short Ramadhan-themed story called: Sweet Dates to Eat.


I then put together this Dates Counting Activity for my 2 year old using this free printable booklet from A Muslim Child is Born called ‘Baby Counts Dates in Ramadan’.


It is actually designed to be a booklet but I ran out of laminating sheets so I made it into a poster instead and my daughter had great fun practising counting, mashaa’Allah.


This afternoon I had planned to use the Dates Unit Study from TJ Ramadan with my eldest two, but when I looked to download it I found it’s no longer available.

So instead we read through and talked about all the interesting facts that we found in the following articles:

They both chose one date each to find out about (Deglet Noor, Medjhool) and then wrote down some brief facts about dates nutritional content and health benefits as well as an interesting fact each using the page from Activity 16 of Umm Maimoonah’s Ramadhan Activity Packs.


The kids then prepared a bowl of dates and chocolates as a gift for a sister who dropped in to visit.


And to end the afternoon we made some Makrout – an Algerian cake made from semolina soaked in orange blossom water and filled with date paste. My mother-in-law taught me how to make them but you can find a step-by-step recipe HERE.


Leave a Reply

