Diphthongs Lapbook and Worksheets ~ OU


I have been designing Phonics Lapbooks and I’m currently creating pages for Diphthongs (the sound created by combining two vowels). This set of pages focuses on the ‘ou’ sound. You can download this set HERE.


For more phonics worksheets and lapbooks, check out our Phonics Lapbook Section.


2 comments on “Diphthongs Lapbook and Worksheets ~ OU

  1. Salam alykum sister,
    You have no idea how much you inspire you with your blog, ideas and writing. I really appreciate you sharing all these resources with everyone and being such an inspiration to many many homeschooling moms everywhere insha’Allah. I homeschool my now 6.5 and 5 year old daughters. I also have a 1.5 year old very active son. I’ve been homeschooling, like you said, since they knew how to hold a crayon🙂 … At first it was each to have all of them sit and teach pretty much the same thing. However, now I feel it’s not fair for my younger daughter because whatever the older is easily grasping, it seems that it is way beyond the younger one. So this year, I started to use two different curriculum for each; which of course is so time consuming and takes a lot of effort! I wonder for you with masha’Allah homeschooling 4 kids; each in different grade level, how do you do it? Do you teach them all together or do you customize 4 different curriculum for each.
    Niveen from USA

    • Walaykum salam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatu Sister,

      It can be quite time consuming when you have to plan for each child’s level and ability. I’m quite fortunate in the sense that I only really need to plan two sets of work. My schooled children are aged 5 and 6 and 9 and 10 so they tend to work together. My 9 year old has caught up well and now works alongside her older brother while my 5 and 6 year old are on similar levels which means they do similar work and often work alongside one another doing the same worksheets. Younger children tend to pick up more and have a larger understanding simply from observing their older siblings. This seems to be the case for us anyway, mashaa’Allah. The kids all work together at the table at the same time, often discussing what they are learning at the time, so it’s not unusual for the younger ones to pick up new information from the older ones.

      As the children get older they become more independent and can easily work after brief instructions which leaves me with more time to work closely with my younger ones. Something I sometimes do to take pressure off myself is to split the day by working just with the younger ones in the morning and then the older ones in the afternoon.

Leave a Reply

