Multiplication File Folder Games


I was looking recently for a way to make learning Multiplication more fun when I came across a set of file folder games, for each of the times tables facts from 2 to 12.

They are all available to download from the FileFolderFun website.

I made the folder game using a sheet of A3 card folded in half. I printed, cut and glued down the sums on either side of the folder.


I printed the spaceship shapes that show the answers, laminated them for durability and cut them out.


The idea is to read the sum and match the correct answer to the sum.


I was using this file folder with Amina and Basma. Amina, who can already count in twos found it relatively easy to master. Basma, although she could count in twos, she couldn’t grasp the concept of multiplication and kept trying to add the numbers instead. So to help her, I made a number line 1-20 and laminated it. Then I let her use paper clips to help her count in twos to help her find the answer to the sums.


2 comments on “Multiplication File Folder Games

  1. Assalamu Alaikum Sister I read u’re blogs on a daily basis. Masha Allah u inspire me to continue Homeschooling my children . I have a question What are A3 cards I am assuming that is a term used in The UK. I am from the US so I guess our terms are different Maybe you can take pic of it then I get an idea Jazak Allah Khair Wasalaam

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Walaykum salam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatu Sister Fathima,

      Jazaki’Allahu khayran for your feedback and encouraging comments.

      Yes, A3 is a term of measurement recognised mainly in Europe and the UK. You can find out more about paper sizes here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paper_size

      Basically I use sheets of coloured card, usually A3 size. When A3 is folded in half it creates A4 which is similar to file folder size. File folder lapbooks seem to be popular in America but I’ve found that buying sheets of card works out cheaper than buying stacks of file folders, and the card comes in a greater variety of colours too.

      I’m guessing that you work in inches in America? Well an A3 sheet of card measures 11.7inches by 16.6 inches. Does that sound right? I’ve scaled that up from the A4 measurement in inches. Hope this helps answer your query.

Leave a Reply

