Animal Classification Wall Chart

I had the idea to design this wall chart while my daughter, Samira was learning about Animal Classification. She made her Animal Classification Lapbook a couple of months ago and I thought this wall chart would be useful for all the kids to refer to anytime we need to look into Animal Classification. You can download the files to make your own wall chart HERE.

The chart can be used to look up various animals from the different groups. And we can also practise identifying animals and putting them into their correct groups.

Under each sub group are a set of cards that can be removed and re-attached using sticky tack (although felt and velcro would work better, something I may re-do at a later date insha’Allah). I would also recommend laminating the cards for durability.

The Animal Kingdom is divided into two Phylum, the vertebrates and the invertebrates and the Phylum are then sub-divided into classes. There are 5 main classes of vertebrates and 4 classes of invertebrates.

I made a heading for each class. You can see in this picture below. Each heading includes details of the identifying features that are present in that class, i.e. Mammals are warm-blooded, give birth to live young, have hair or fur, etc.

The individual animal cards are then attached under the correct class heading on the wall chart. You can see that humans are classified as mammals but we have placed the picture of the human above the animals because of the unique position that Allah gave us when He favoured Mankind above all Creation.

Similarly, you can see under the Phylum invertebrates that there are various classes. Invertebrates are the most numerous of all the creation in the Animal Kingdom and some classes are sub-divided again into smaller groups. Such as the Arthropods who are sub-divided into crustaceans, insects and arachnids, each group having its own identifying features that sets it apart from other arthropods.

Again, the cards are placed under the group headings. The group headings list the identifying features so that the children can easily identify to which group the various animals belong.

33 comments on “Animal Classification Wall Chart

  1. I found this post extremely useful. Thank you!

  2. Why is it so hard to find something simple and straightforward? I needed this! So thank you for sharing! This is sooo helpful. I’m going to print this out and use it this week!

  3. Excellent site.. you are so creative and have been given a gift from God… helping others to homeschool their kids. I am so grateful to have found you…Blessings!

  4. LOVE this post! I’m having trouble finding the printables. Are they still available?

  5. I have been looking for something like this. Thank you for sharing! I am having difficulty downloading the file. Is it possible for you to email them to me?

  6. Hi! Love this! I am having difficulty downloading the file. I tried many time. Would you be able to email it to me.

  7. I am having problems downloading this file. Can you please email the Animal Kingdom Classification Chart to me.

  8. This is PERFECT for a unit we are working on. Can I have the file as well? The link above isn’t working. Thank you so much!

  9. May I also grab the files? They would be so useful! (And just what we’re doing at the moment!)

  10. I would love to have the files as well please!

  11. Many thanks for this! It is perfect and I’m so glad you shared with us.

  12. Thank you so much for your hard work and for sharing with us all!! I will certainly be making use of this! #soappreciative#

  13. Could I have the files please? This is the best resource on the animal kingdom I can find!

  14. so excited to have found this to support our lesson🙂 thanks!

  15. may I have this download? it is not working for me. Thanks

  16. I spent hrs looking for THIS kind of set a few months ago and put off lessons,…I am renewed!!!!! Thank you

  17. Are there different types of classification? From what I’ve been doing, we have distinguished between living and non-living.
    Then the 5 kingdoms which are: plants, animals, fungi, protisa and monera.
    From within the animal kingdom there are 9 phyla which are Profiera, Cnidaria, Platynminthes, enaioda, Mollusca, Annelida, Arthropoda, Echinodermata and Chordata (vertebrate).
    Within these are the classes, which for the chordata are fish Ampinbians, reptiles, birds and mammals.
    The way you have it is more simple and includes mostly what the kids are familiar with.
    I just did a quick search and also came across the classification of living things as plants and animals. Then breaking the animals down to vertebrate and invertebrate. Then continuing to break it down in the order you have.
    Does doing it this way change the categories that something falls in with regards to kingdom, phyla, class, etc.
    We haven’t gone very far with this and have done mostly informal learning, however I’d like to get it sorted on the wall (and in my head🙂.

    Jazakullah chair and may Allah (swa) reward you for sharing all the work you have done with you children.

  18. Great idea! Would you happen to remember the dimensions of the paper you used for the background (length and width)?

  19. Im a biology major and you have to pay so much money for simple things like this! I found this very helpful! Thank you!

  20. This is fantastic and will go so well with our Zoology science this school year. Thank you for sharing.

  21. Thank you so much! I’ve been looking all morning for something exactly like this!

  22. Thank you,this seems excellent and we are going to have a go tomorrow. We have been classification of animals, but struggling to place where everything fits in, something visual is the way forward!

  23. Thank you so much for this resource!!

Leave a Reply

