Subtraction File Folder Game

This is a little file folder game that I made for my 3 and 4 year old daughters to start practising take aways (subtraction).

I got the templates for this game from the Homeschool Share website.  It’s a combination of two games contributed to the website. You can download the game printables HERE.

When the file folder opens out you can see the numbered pockets all containing cards.

Printed on each card is a sum and the child must work out the sum in order to put the card into the correct answer pocket.

In order to help them complete the sum correctly they can use the squirrel’s acorns to count.

So if the sum card reads 5 – 2 …

Then the child will count out 5 acorns …

And then take away (subtract) 2 acorns …

Which leaves the answer of 3 acorns …

And having found the correct answer, the child then gets to place the sum card into the number 3 pocket.

My girls, Amina and Basma have been having great fun playing this game, masha’Allah.

If you’d like to have a go at making this file folder game I have made the templates available to download HERE.


4 comments on “Subtraction File Folder Game

  1. Assalaamu alaikum sister

    Jazzakillahu khair for sharing🙂 I have downloaded and printed the addition lapbook but have not yet done it with my 5 year old I hope to do it next week insha Allah. This one looks cute too, I’ll do it next insha Allah.

    Fee Amaanillah
    Umm Imaan

  2. Assalaam alaykum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh,

    You couldn’t please tell me where I can find the “file share widget”… i just can’t seem to locate it… I wanted to make this subtraction game using the template you offer, for which i thank you very much; wonderful work on your blog. May Allah azza wa jal bless you abundantly

    salaam alaykum

Leave a Reply

