Ramadhan Recipes: Algerian Borek


Asalamu alaykum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatu …

OK … Being married to an Algerian it was only a matter of time before I became obsessed with Algerian food so I’m going to share with you a borek recipe that is cooked pretty much on a daily basis during Ramadhan. It is traditionally eaten with chorba(soup).

As a mother of four daughters, masha’Allah, I am keen to teach them how to cook good food using fresh ingredients from scratch, and fortunately my daughters are also keen to learn. My eldest daughter is 6 (now 9) years old and is already eager to get started in the kitchen, masha’Allah. 


First of all, add a tbsp of oil to a pan and gently start browning some lean mince. The leaner the better. Can be lamb or beef.


Finely chop an onion and add to the mince.



Finely chop some fresh parsley and add to the mince and onion.


Stir the mixture, season with salt and pepper and when the mince is cooked, turn it off and leave to cool. It is important the mixture is cool so that the borek doesn’t break.


Lay out the borek sheet onto a clean, dry work surface.


Spread some soft cheese onto the bottom edge of the borek sheet.


Spoon some of the mince mixture onto the sheet. (NOTE: at this point traditionally, Algerians would add a few sliced green olives on top of the mince but I don’t like olives so I have left this ingredient out)


Squeeze on a little harissa (chilli paste).


Finally add a little more soft cheese.


Fold in the edges of the borek sheet making sure they overlap slightly. 


Start to roll the borek making sure to keep the roll tight.

 And it’s ready to cook in shallow oil.

Drain excess oil using napkins and serve.

NOTE: Once the borek are made they should be covered with cling film and stored in the fridge until they’re ready to be cooked.


7 comments on “Ramadhan Recipes: Algerian Borek

  1. Thank you so much. My husband is Algerian and I have a hard time finding recipes as did you. Thanks again.

  2. Thanks! I have had a problem with the frozen “brik” wrappers, that they absorb a lot of oil while cooking. I kind of remedied this by dipping the ends of the bourek in egg and using it to seal the seam.
    When the bourek cooked the egg was unnoticeable.
    I made extra boureks the other day and froze them. I then fried 2 of them briefly while still frozen and heated them thru in the oven. This was a great idea because the amount of oil that came out of them in the oven was unbelievable. I poured it out of the pan into my extra oil to save. It is healthier and tastes less greasy. Using spring roll wrappers they don’t absorb much grease, but the taste is not quite as good.
    The type of bourek I was making used seafood, chicken and chinese mung bean vermicelli. It was very good! I have a bunch of little algerian cookbooks but that one was a moroccan recipe from a book about mediterranean cooking. One of my favorites are shrimp in a creamy sauce. I also make this one: Fry onion, celery and carrot that has been chopped finely in the food processor, garlic also, then add chopped cooked chicken, spices including cinnamon of course, egg and parsley, olives. No cheese. De-lish.. Algerian people mistake them for tuna for some reason. Go figure! It’s my own recipe.

  3. […] I had a different version of it while in NYC last winter.  So with my new found knowledge, and a half dozen recipes, I set out to figure out the best way to conquer this dish while living in temporary […]

  4. […] Original recipe can be found here […]

Leave a Reply

